Is A Hospice Program Right For Your Mom Or Dad?

Mom's 90th BirthdayWhen the medical director of my mother’s assisted living residence called me I was curious to know what she wanted to talk to me about. After informing me how much everyone at the facility loved my mom she then made a statement that took me by surprise. “I think you mom would benefit greatly by going into a hospice program.”

My thoughts immediately jumped to “Oh my God, she’s about to die. The end is very near.” The next day a hospice nurse visited me and explained to me what hospice was and whom it could benefit. She did state that in order to qualify for hospice an individual is expected to die in 6 months or less. But she added that some patients have been in hospice for a year or more. And in some cases they have improved so much they are taken off of the program.

I learned that Medicare would pay for an upgrade to her wheelchair that would make her much more comfortable and provide for any other medical equipment she needed. A nurse would be assigned to her who would monitor her condition weekly, review her medications and report back to us if any changes in her condition occurred. In addition a home health aid would visit her three to four times a week to bathe her or provide any other personal care that would benefit her.

She would be assigned a social worker that could assist her and our family with any emotional support that was needed. An experienced physician would participate in the development of her care plan and oversee her medical regimen. And all of these services would be fully covered by Medicare.

Within two days the nurse had visited her, made specific recommendations to changes in her meds and brought in a new mattress and a more comfortable wheelchair for her. I was amazed at how quickly she went into action and how knowledgeable she was about the aging process.

I had noticed for a few months that my mother had deteriorated significantly but I wasn’t sure how to deal with this and who to talk to. The hospice nurse made it clear to me she was available 24 hours a day, seven days a week if I had any questions or concerns. I immediately felt much more comfortable knowing that someone was watching her situation closely and would be available whenever we needed her.

If you have a family member who is beginning to show signs of slipping away I would recommend strongly that you find out more about the hospice program and have a hospice nurse visit you to answer your questions. In most cases she will do an evaluation of your loved one at no cost. The website for the National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization (www.nhpco.org) will help you find a hospice organization in your area.

Leave a Reply

